​Board of Directors​

Executive Committee:

  • Mr. William Alden, Chairman/CEO – Former Chief of Congressional and Public Affairs, Drug Enforcement Administration, Oakton, Virginia.

  • Ms. Jill Roberts, Senior Vice President/Director of DEA YDP/Youth Programs – Pacific Palisades, California.  

  • Mr. James McGivney, Vice Chairman – Former Special Agent, Drug Enforcement Administration, Cornelius, North Carolina.

  • Mr. Lewis Rice, Secretary – Former Special Agent, Drug Enforcement Administration. Currently Vice President of Global Security and Trademark Protection for Estee Lauder, New York City, New York.

  • Mr. Daniel Staffieri, Treasurer (Ex-Officio) – Former Special Agent, Drug Enforcement Administration. Currently President, Federal Agents, Inc., Boston, Massachusetts. 


  • Ms. Jodi Avergun, Esquire – Former Chief of Staff, Drug Enforcement Administration. Currently Special Counsel, Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP, Washington, D.C.

  • Mr. Charles Blau, Esquire – Former Associate Attorney General of the United States. Currently a member at Curran Tomko Tarski LLP, Dallas, Texas.

  • Mark Gold, M.D. – Retired, University of Florida College of Medicine Eminent Scholar, Professor, Dizney Distinguished Professor & Chairman (1990-2014), 17th University of Florida Distinguished Alumni Professor, Gainesville, Florida.

  • Mr. Thomas Harrigan – Former Deputy Administrator, Former Chief of Operations, Drug Enforcement Administration.  Currently Vice President, CACI International, Arlington, Virginia. 

  • Mr. David Katz – Principal, David Katz & Associates, Highland Park, Illinois. Founding Director, Save A Star Drug Awareness Foundation, Highland Park, Illinois.

  • Ms. Colleen Maloof – President, The Maloof Companies, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

  • Ms. Helen Mars – Beverly Hills, California.

  • Ms. EJ Milken – Owner/EVP, Partner, Kikori Whiskey; Consultant, Milken Scholar Program; and Co-Founder, Milken Young Leader’s Circle for the Milken Institute; Member, Everychild Foundation, Pacific Palisades, California.

  • Ms. Carol Safir – President, The November Group, Ltd. President, Board of Trustees, New York City Police Museum, New York, New York.

  • Dr. Charles Sophy – Psychiatrist/Clinical Instructor, Beverly Hills, California 

  • Mr. Haywood Talcove – CEO, Government, LexisNexis Risk Security; CEO LexisNexis Special Services, Inc., Washington, D.C. 

  • Ms. Sue Thau – Public Policy Consultant, Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America, Alexandria, Virginia.

  • Mr. Walter Wang – President and CEO, JM Eagle Inc., Los Angeles, California.

  • Mr. Michael Yamaki, Esquire – Pacific Palisades, California.

Ex-Officio Board Members:

  • The Honorable John Bartels, Jr. – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, White Plains, New York.

  • The Honorable Peter Bensinger – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration. Currently Senior Consultant, Morneau Shepell, Chicago, Illinois.

  • The Honorable Robert Bonner – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Pasadena, California.

  • The Honorable Asa Hutchinson – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Rogers, Arkansas.

  • The Honorable John C. Lawn – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

  • The Honorable Michele Leonhart – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Laguna Niguel, California

  • The Honorable Donnie R. Marshall – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Bastrop, Texas.

  • The Honorable Francis B. Mullen – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Davenport, Florida.

  • The Honorable Karen Tandy – Former Administrator, Drug Enforcement Administration, Annandale, Virginia. 

  • Mr. John Costanzo – President of the Association of Former Federal Narcotics Agents, Coconut Grove, Florida.

  • Mr. Scott Canales – S.V.P., Lockton Insurance, Los Angeles, California. Foundation Young Executives Council

  • Ms. Jessica Nickel – President, The Brimley Group, Washington, D.C. Foundation Young Executives Council

  • Mr. Kevin Sabet – Co-Founder, Project SAM (Smart Approaches to Marijuana), New York, New York. Foundation Young Executives Council

2020 Pennsylvania Ave, NW #165

Washington, DC United States 20006

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2021 DEA Educational Foundation

The DEA Educational Foundation is not part of the US Department of Justice (DOJ) or Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). Neither DOJ nor the DEA approves, endorses, or authorizes the Foundation, its materials or its fundraising efforts.