2014 DEA Educational Foundation Gala


Vince Gilligan

The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Educational Foundation Global Leadership Award is presented to an individual who is deemed by the Board of Directors of the Foundation to have made significant and long term positive contributions in support of drug law enforcement and drug abuse prevention education in the United States.

2014 DEA Educational Foundation Gala

On Wednesday, November 19, 2014, the DEA Educational Foundation will hold a Gala Dinner presenting Vince Gilligan and the creative team behind the groundbreaking and award-winning series Breaking Bad with the 2014 Global Leadership Award for the factual and honest portrayal of methamphetamine abuse and trafficking. The Gala will be held at The Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California, at 6:30 p.m.

Vince Gilligan
Vince Gilligan, series creator and executive producer of “Breaking Bad,” and new series “Better Call Saul,” was born in Richmond, VA and raised in Farmville and Chesterfield County. He received the Virginia Governor’s Screenwriting Award in 1989 for his screenplay Home Fries, which was later turned into a film starring Drew Barrymore and Luke Wilson.

As a writer and executive producer on “The X-Files,” Gilligan shared Golden Globe® Awards in 1996 and 1997 for Best Dramatic Series. His other credits include the FOX Television series “The Lone Gunmen,” which he co-created, and the features Hancock, starring Will Smith and Charlize Theron, and Wilder Napalm, starring Debra Winger and Dennis Quaid.

Throughout its run, “Breaking Bad” earned several nominations and awards, including Emmy® Award nominations for Outstanding Drama series from 2009-2014, with both halves of the fifth season taking home a category win,  and Outstanding Directing for a Drama series nominations for Gilligan in 2008, 2012, and 2014. The show was also recognized with a Golden Globe® win for Best Television Series Drama for its final season in 2014.  After writing and directing the “Breaking Bad” pilot, Gilligan received the 2008 Writers Guild Award for Best Episodic Drama, with another win in 2012. He also took home Peabody Awards honoring both the show’s first and its final season, and the American Film Institute named “Breaking Bad” one of the Best Television Programs of the Year throughout its entire run.  The series was hailed by Stephen King as “the best of the 21st century.”

Also being honored: The Creative Team of Breaking Bad

Dean Norris
Bryan Cranston
Aaron Paul
Anna Gunn
Betsy Brandt
RJ Mitte
Bob Odenkirk
Steven Michael
Michelle MacLaren
Melissa Bernstein
Mark Johnson
Stew Lyons
Diane Mercer
Peter Gould
George Mastras
Sam Catlin
Moira Walley-Beckett
Thomas Schnauz
Gennifer Hutchison

  • Give Now to the DEA Educational Foundation